Alumni of the Year

Presented by the Board of Trustees to an alumnus or alumna in recognition of professional achievements or distinguished community service


Randy St. John '17h: 2017 Recipient

Randy St. John, Alumnus of the YearHarrisburg Academy was pleased to welcome the 2017 Alumnus of the Year, Randy St. John '17h, as the Commencement speaker at the Academy’s Class of 2017 graduation ceremony on Friday, June 9.  St. John was nominated for the 2017 Alumnus of the Year Award by the Executive Alumni Board, the leadership group of our Academy alumni.


There is little St. John hasn’t influenced in his four-plus decades of teaching at Harrisburg Academy.  During his fulltime tenure, from 1971 to 1989, he served as English teacher, English department head, curriculum coordinator, dean of students, director of college guidance, director of summer school, head of Upper School, and soccer coach.

St. John left his fulltime role at Harrisburg Academy in 1989 to serve as a lobbyist, at the state and federal levels, for the Pennsylvania Food Merchants Association.  St. John retired 25 years later, in 2014, as a senior vice president. Concurrently, he continued to moonlight at the Academy, teaching philosophy (1989-2006) and later, International Baccalaureate Theory of Knowledge (2006-2017), part-time in the evening.

In 1991, St. John joined Harrisburg Academy’s Board of Trustees.  He served as a trustee for eight years, most notably as vice president from 1992-1994 and president from 1994-1997 before ending his term as past-president in 1999.  

In addition to St. John, his family is connected to the Academy.  His wife, Cindy, was the school’s Middle School / Upper School librarian for 36 years until retiring in 2014.  Their children, Will ’99 and Alexandra ’04, attended the Academy from their Early Childhood years through graduation.  The St. Johns are also charter members of the Academy’s leadership giving society, The John Harris Circle.

St. John earned a bachelor’s degree in English from Kenyon College in Gambier, Ohio.  Subsequently, he earned two master’s degrees: a degree in English from the University of Rochester in Rochester, New York and later, a degree in liberal education from St. John’s College in Annapolis, Maryland.  He is an avid fly fisherman and golfer in his spare time.


Past Recipients

Deborah Masters '69 (2016)

David Brason '74 (2015)

Dr. Jeffrey Morrison '88 (2014)

Rebecca Stevenson McClure ’89 (2013)
Joseph P. Gillette ’82 (2012)
Ruqayya Khan ’78 (2011)
Mark Parsells ’78 (2010)
Lewis E. Lehrman ’56 (2009)
Elizabeth E. Wein ’82 (2008)
Clifton E. Rodgers, Jr. ’72 (2007)
Nicholas Brown ’37 (2006)
George Hoopy ’26 (1999)
George Hoopy ’26 (1998)
Kathryn Zerbe ’69 (1995)
Kathryn Zerbe ’69 (1994)
Harold Prowell ’25 (1994)
Lloyd R. Persun ’64 (1993)
Ellen Brody Hughes ’64 (1988)
Marie Graupner Elias ’35 (1987)
David A. Elias, Jr. ’38 (1987)
Caroline Coloviras ’29 (1986)
Virginia Brown House ’29 (1985)
Philip Brown ’26 (1985)
Nicholas Brown ’37 (1985)
Arthur E. Brown, Jr. ’34 (1985)
Lee Javitch ’49 (1984)
William W. Dodson, Jr. ’38 (1983)
Albert L. Allen, Jr. ’38 (1982)
Ernest S. Burch, Jr. ’56 (1980)
Helen McVey Colvin ’60 (1979)
Marion Carey Alexander ’59 (1978)
Lloyd R. Persun ’64 (1977)
John B. Davis ’60 (1976)
D. Gilbert Lehrman ’56 (1975)
Spencer G. Nauman, Jr ’51 (1974)
M. Edwin Green ’20 (1973)
Barbara Foust Kriebel ’62 (1972)
Martha Gross Morrison ’42 (1971)


Harrisburg's Only Independent School,
Serving Students Preschool - 12th Grade.

International Baccalaureate Logo

© 2018 Harrisburg Academy, All Rights Reserved
10 Erford Road | Wormleysburg, PA 17043
Tel: 717-763-7811 | Fax: 717-975-0894 | Contact Us