McCormick Medal

Presented by the Board of Trustees to a member of the Academy community in recognition of dedicated leadership and voluntary, meritorious, lifelong service to the school


Thomas B. Schmidt III: 2017 Recipient

The McCormick Medal is awarded each year to one individual who exemplifies leadership and service to Harrisburg Academy.  This year’s recipient, Tom Schmidt, is a former Academy trustee and alumni parent.  Schmidt accepted the award at Harrisburg Academy’s annual Founders Day celebration on May 22. 

Schmidt is the father of Nate ’13 and Nick ’13, both 15-year students who attended the Academy from preschool (HATS) through 12th grade.  Schmidt served on the Board of Trustees for 10 years, as a trustee from 2003-2007, vice president from 2007-2009, and president from 2009-2013.  He was involved in the germination of several important Academy initiatives, including The Centers for Experiential Learning & Innovation, the campus-wide facilities master plan, the campaign feasibility study, and ultimately, Bold Ambition: The Campaign for Harrisburg Academy.  Schmidt and his wife, Donna Fisher, are also founding members of the Academy’s leadership giving society, The John Harris Circle.  During his time as an Academy parent, Schmidt actively supported his sons in their many activities at school.  


Professionally, Schmidt is the attorney-in-charge at the Harrisburg office of Pepper Hamilton LLP.  Since his sons’ graduation, he has continued to provide valuable legal advice to Harrisburg Academy.  In addition, he was a celebrated speaker in the International Baccalaureate Theory of Knowledge classes, specifically regarding his involvement with the 2005 “Kitzmiller v. Dover Area School District” court case.


Schmidt’s resume includes service to many other local boards, including Market Square Concerts, Harristown Development Corporation, and Pennfuture.  He is also a member of the vestry of St. Stephen’s Cathedral (twice senior warden) and serves as an adjunct instructor of advocacy at Dickinson School of Law, the same school from which he earned his law degree.  Schmidt has been the proud recipient of the “Thaddeus Stevens Champion Award” from the Public Law Center of Philadelphia, “Adelante Award” from Friends of Farmworkers, Inc., and “Excellence Award” from Pennsylvania Legal Aid Network, in addition to being listed in “The Best Lawyers in America.”



Past Recipients

Kristin Scofield (2016)

Linda Goldstein (2015)

Kate Earley (2014)
Alison Hassman Ballantine ’91 (2013)
Stacey Zuckerman (2012)
Helen McVey Colvin ’60 (2011)
Marion Carey Alexander ’59 (2010)
Blair Trogner (2009)
Randolph St. John (2008)
Bonnie Stevenson (2007)
Anne Davis (2006)
Spencer Nauman, Jr. ’51 (2005)
Marilynn Abrams (2004)



Harrisburg's Only Independent School,
Serving Students Preschool - 12th Grade.

International Baccalaureate Logo

© 2018 Harrisburg Academy, All Rights Reserved
10 Erford Road | Wormleysburg, PA 17043
Tel: 717-763-7811 | Fax: 717-975-0894 | Contact Us